Skip to page body Home About Community Living Doing Business Browse by Topic I Want to... Your Government

When you get a ticket, you must enter a plea of:

  • No Contest (Nolo contendere)
  • Guilty or
  • Not Guilty to each violation received.

You must plea on or before the tenth business day after receiving the ticket. You need to indicate the plea and sign the back of the fine schedule received with your citation and mail it into the court, or appear at our court location, or write a letter indicating your plea. Remember only the person who received the ticket can sign the plea form or write the letter regarding the ticket. You can make your plea/payment either in person or by mail.

You must speak on your own behalf unless an attorney represents you. In the State of Texas, no individual other than the defendant may enter a plea on behalf of another individual (except in cases where an attorney is retained.) This applies to spouses and all other family members as well. A defendant must enter a plea on his own behalf either in person or in writing. Payment received in the mail without a plea constitutes a plea of "no contest".

If you fail to make a plea on each violation you have received on or before the tenth business day, the Court will: Issue a warrant for your arrest AND file a separate criminal charge of Failure to Appear-Citation with a fine/state fees of $269 plus a $50 warrant fee. (Due to legislation updates, fines and state fees are subject to change.)

NO CONTEST (Nolo contendere): A plea of nolo contendere means that you do not contest the charges against you. A plea of nolo contendere cannot be used against you in the event of a subsequent civil suit for damages. When you enter a "no contest" plea, you must pay the fine specified for your violation.

GUILTY: By entering a plea of guilty you admit that law prohibits the act you are charged with, you did commit the act and you have no defense or excuse for your act. A plea of guilty may be used against you in a civil suit if there was a traffic accident. When you plead guilty, you must pay the fine specified for the violation.

NOT GUILTY: A plea of "not guilty" means that you are informing the Court that you deny guilt or that you have a good defense for your case. When you enter a plea of Not Guilty to a charge, you must then request a pretrial conference. This is a mandatory hearing in which you are visiting with the Assistant City Attorney about the case. After the pretrial conference has been attended, should you not reach a plea agreement approved by the judge, you are able to request a trial by judge or a trial by jury.

PLEA OPTIONS FOR CIVIL PARKING:


When you get a civil parking citation, you must enter a plea of:

  • Admit, Admit with explanation or
  • Deny for each violation received.

You must plea on or before the tenth business day after receiving the ticket. You need to indicate the plea and mail payment into the court, or appear at our court location before a hearing officer, or write a letter indicating your plea/explanation. Remember only the person who received the ticket can sign the plea form or write the letter regarding the ticket. You can make your plea/payment either in person or by mail. If the driver does not respond, the registered owner will assume responsibility and liability.

You must speak on your own behalf unless an attorney represents you. In the State of Texas, no individual other than the defendant may enter a plea on behalf of another individual (except in cases where an attorney is retained.) This applies to spouses and all other family members as well. A defendant must enter a plea on his own behalf either in person or in writing. Payment received in the mail without a plea constitutes a plea of "admit".

ADMIT & ADMIT WITH EXPLANATION: A plea of "admit or admit with explanation" means that you do not contest the charges against you. When you enter either plea, you must pay the fine specified for your violation. You can plea and/or pay either in person or by mail.

DENY: A plea of "deny" means that you would like to have a hearing before the administrative hearing officer to discuss the facts of the case. At which time, the hearing officer reserves the right to further investigate and then determine whether you are not liable, liable, or immediately decide based on the facts of the case liability for such charges. If you are found liable, you must pay the fine in full or you may appeal your case by providing the court with a written appeal request and post a cash bond in the amount of your fine within 30 days of the liable finding.  Your case will then be set before the presiding judge for a trial de novo.


CITATION PAYMENT OPTIONS


---> PAY CITATION ONLINE 

---> PAY BY PHONE: 979-764-3683  

IF YOUR CITATION DOES NOT APPEAR ONLINE, CALL THE COURT DURING NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS TO PAY BY CREDIT CARD. You must have your citation number or case number readily available for credit card processing. 

Cash, money orders, cashier's checks, personal checks and credit cards (Visa, MasterCard or Discover ONLY) are acceptable forms of payment, and can be made in the court lobby. Make checks, money orders and cashier's checks payable to: City of College station. Correspondence and payment of fines should be by certified mail or delivered in person.

There is a drop box located on the left of our front entrance for any documents or non-cash payments. PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH IN THE MAIL OR IN OUR DROP BOX. 
Last updated: 5/19/2016 4:01:13 PM